Greetings from Surfrs Paradise on the Gold Coast ‘1980s’
<h2>Surfers Paradise History</h2>
The coastline of the Gold Coast was traversed by Captain Cook in 1770, by John Oxley in 1799 and 1802, and the opening of The Broadwater was noted in 1822 by John Bringle. White settlement of the area commenced with timber-getters in the 1840s and agriculture in the 1860s. The American Civil War created opportunities for cotton-growing at that time, though sugar was being grown by the late 1870s. The district was surveyed in 1869 and Southport was established in 1874 The Southport Hotel was built in 1876 and traffic increased when a ferry service across the Nerang River was established that same year. Cobb & Co coaches started offering a service to and from Brisbane in the mid-1870s. The pier, now long departed, was constructed in 1880 and the area known as Main Beach (where the Sheraton Mirage is located) was sold in 1885. The railway arrived in 1889 and a coastal road was completed in 1923. The development of the area since World War I has been continuous.
<em>Aerial view of Surfers Paradise Beach, Cavill Ave, Queensland, 1952</em>
<h2>Surfers Paradise Farming Days</h2>
In 1869, James Beattie was one of many first selectors or farmers to travel down to the South Coast and Hinterland. Beattie settled south of an area which the Kombumerri people called Jarri Parila (today’s Narrowneck). He selected 80 acres on the northern bank of the Nerang River. The location of his farm was not far from the future Cavill Avenue. Beattie built a shingle-roomed cottage, a barn for his produce and a jetty on the river bank. Around him, farmers were just barely surviving on their farms or selections, growing crops such as maize and sugar cane.
<h2>Visitors and Travelers</h2>
By 1888, a horse and coach service was operating from Southport three times a week. The coach crossed the Nerang River at Meyers Ferry and then traveled along the beach. Johann Meyer’s family operated a horse and buggy service from the Southport hotels, offering visitors a pleasure trip to the Main Surf Beach. In 1889, Meyer’s Main Beach Hotel was declared a postal receiving office, officially titled Elston. A postal address meant an official place name and a mark on the map.
People would still refer to the place for a long time as Meyer’s Ferry.
<em>Cavill Ave and the Pacific Highway in Surfers Paradise. Surfers Paradise Gold Coast 1951 </em>
Find <a href=”https://www.surfersparadiseqld.com/events/”>events</a>, <a href=”https://www.surfersparadiseqld.com/”>Accommodation</a>, <a href=”https://www.surfersparadiseqld.com/”>Theme Parks</a> and things to do on when visiting the Gold Coast here at Surfers Paradise Qld.
<h2>A Village Called Elston</h2>
The Postmaster in Southport, a Mr Palmer, named the receiving office near the surf beach after his wife’s home village in Nottinghamshire, England. By the 1890s, the first entrepreneur of the area, Johann Meyer faced financial ruin and after he died in 1901, the Main Beach Hotel licence lapsed.
Around 1920, Brisbane hotelier, Jim Cavill acquired twenty five acres (10 hectares) of land in an area known as <strong>Elston</strong> – the place we now know as Surfers Paradise. Jim Cavill owned 25 acres of land along the white isolated beach, where on 4 of these acres, he erected his 16 bedroom timber hotel which featured private gardens and even a zoo.
In 1933, Jim and many other Elston town people, lobbied to change the name from Elston to Surfers Paradise, <strong>Surfers Paradise</strong> was always considered the frontrunner, though Sea Glint was also nominated.
<h2>What the Gold Coast is known for</h2>
Stretching along 57 kilometres of stunning coastline, the Gold Coast is best known for its surf, sand and sunshine, bordered by lush <a href=”https://www.surfersparadiseqld.com/events/mt-tamborine/”>Mt Tamborine</a> hinterland. The Gold Coast natural beauty, relaxed lifestyle and ideal location make the Gold Coast one of the most unique cities in which to live and work. While the Gold Coast remains a favourite tourism destination, attracting 12 million visitors each year, the city’s economy is diversifying.